RSS Feed

Thoughts…

Posted on


…and Blogs

 

I’ve been trying to blog for like three day now.   I want to tell about my vacation, my summer, what’s been going on in my life for the last few months.  But the truth is, every time I try to start this.  I just get into a jumble and delete the whole thing.

So, take 1028030282 here we go.  Maybe this one will stick.

June

The first of June was crazy and hectic.  We ended school in May, immediately traveled to see my BFF, Jen, get married to the man she loves.  It was a beautiful night and a good time.  The travel was hard on the kids, but it worked.  When June started on Thursday, I’m pretty sure that I was in bed sick.  After getting back I was almost flu-ish, but it was just a rough cold.     Anyway the first full week of June, was Haylie’s room, which I told you all about in a previous blog post, Thing We Do.   The next week of June was a mess.  Here I was trying to get caught back up with the normal house work that I had postponed for my daughter’s room.  (PS as of today, Haylie’s room is still very tidy and organized.  So I’m proud of her and that work was well worth it. ) When I was trying to pack because that Thursday we were leaving.  AND the second full week of June was Twilight Camp.  So cleaning, taking my kid to camp, and packing left for a very stressed out and busy Maciena.

Thursday we left for camping.   The whole kit and kaboodle family were going. Mean 13 people in four trucks one pulling a camper left from the local Kroger parking lot to go to Hocking Hills, Ohio.  The drive was long, but not terribly so.  It was so manageable.  Once we got to the camp ground we were staying at it was time to set up camp.  Let me tell Ya, I had not been camping in YEARS.  I really don’t know the last time I was actually in a tent, sleeping on the ground.  But even though I’m pretty sure I took about 10 years off my life with all the physical activity I did.  Five-mile hike,  three-hour canoeing trip, and two nights of swimming in the lake.  I was more active in that four days than I have been in a while.  I hated it. But I loved it.  It was so pretty up there. But it was also so hot.  I don’t know how anyone survives the outdoors.  It’s gorgeous and worth it but so hard on the body.  That when I got home, I was basically a veggie for two days.  I just sat and chilled.  Seriously it was beautiful and amazing, but it was so good to do nothing.

The next week in June, I was supposed to start the next phase of cleaning projects, in particular being the family room. Let’s just say that it didn’t work out.  I did do work in the kitchen.  I emptied out my blue drawers that hold all my storage containers.  Cleaned them, organized them and recycled broken containers or one that was missing a lid.  It was a long day of work, but worth it.  There is a ton of projects that were just ignored during the last days of June.  But things were also done.  Like I started cataloging all my movies and books.   That is still an ongoing process.   But I’m so proud that of what I’ve cataloged.

The very last week of June was VBS.  And quite frankly it was fun but subdued.  Normally we have hundreds of kids, this year we had a much smaller group.  It was easier to manage, but still, it was the loud ruckus that it is normal.  But I have to say that I’m happy that we had it.   It was a good week.  Lucas was a pain in the butt the first night, he didn’t want to be a part of his group.  I’m not even sure why.  It was Randy’s first year, and he was no way perfect, but I think overall he was good.  It was a good year.

 

July

The second month of summer was a much more of the same.  Granted it this month isn’t over, but still.  The first week was spent cleaning, cataloging and dealing with kiddos.  The 4th of July was fun.  Per our tradition, we went to the Jones’ farm and watched a big boom.  I’m not talking fireworks either.  They blew up a car and it was perfect.  PERFECT.  I love watching the destructed of a dead car by gun fire and explosives.  I’m just saying.

The next week of July was spent with traveling.  The kids and hit the interstate at 5 am with the in-laws. We went to Ocala, Florida, spend a few days hanging out at the in-law’s house.  Then Thursday we went to Daytona Beach.  My kids were so happy in the water.  Lucas was super brave, he learned how to jump the waves as the crashed in and was having so much fun.  Randy would run into the water but was having a blast in the sand too. Haylie just wanted to be in the deep, until she got there but was seriously having fun with her cousins.  I ended up roasted and looked much like a red coke can.  It was not pleasant. The burn was painful.  Especially since I was in a car, driving to Chattanooga TN.  Once I made it to Chattanooga.  It was very late and sleep was all I really wanted.  It wasn’t a good night sleep due to the burn.  But it was perfect enough, cause I was TIRED.

In Chattanooga, the kids and I along with my parents did the incline there, and it was amazing.  I hadn’t done it since I was a kid and to see my kids light up at it was fairly awesome.  Lunch happened, then we headed to Pigeon Forge, TN.  Got another hotel room.  Between the burn, the exhaustion, and the lack of eating properly for a few days, I was sick to my stomach.  Potato soup was my best friend that night.  It helped so much.  That night we went to the hotel pool, and the kids once again showed me how brave they are.  Randy and Lucas (with proper flotation devices) was jumping into the five feet deep end.  They are water babies.  When it was time to get out the pool and go to bed, they were not happy, but tired enough that they passed out rather quickly that night.

After breakfast, the next day the kids and I headed home.  At some point on Saturday, I did something to my back.  It was bad.  So bad that it’s had me flat on my back since then.  I’ve been to the chiropractor every day since Monday.  Today is the first day I’ve really felt normal as far as my body.  Which is good.  I just hope it sticks.   The pain that comes from not being able to move is intolerable.

July is almost over and things are frozen for me until my back gets better.  So I’m hoping that happens soon.  Like really soon.  Because I still have bazillion things that I want to do and get done before school starts for my kiddos.  Things to get done for school.  Amongst other things, I have to get my daughter a band instrument.  So there are a lot of things that need to happen. But whatever.

 

Looking Ahead

In the next few months, I can expect my kids to start school again.   Get my house back in order.  And get back in shape.  I hate being so out of shape.  But that has been my summer for the most part.  Now it’s just a matter of surviving until fall.

 

That is all.

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

Leave a Reply

