RSS Feed

The Things We Do

Posted on

For our Children

School ended a week ago, and I went on an awesome whirlwind of a trip, which I should totally blog about, but anyhoo.  But Monday was the first day of a full week off school.  That wasn’t involved in travel plans.  So because I don’t think my daughter has had a completely cleaned room since 2014, I decided that had to be corrected.

Monday we woke up early and started.  I didn’t even take before pictures, quite frankly, those would have completely embarrassed me. So I took a snap after we had moved her bed out of the room. 

You can see how bad it was.  I mean over the years she’s clean it, vacuum it, put away her clothes.  It wasn’t’ like a cesspool of gross nasty things. But things dump. There were pens and pencils, game pieces, ponytail holders, notepads, and toys scattered about her room.   Her room has never been the priority, due to the closing door, to keep prying eyes out.  So.  It always resided at the very bottom of my to-do list.  )I know, Bad Mommy.(

So we completely emptied it.  Every single item she owned came out of the bedroom.  Making it the hot spot for play in the house.   Oh, my children ran circles in the freedom of the empty room.  They preferred it to the huge backyard they have, weirdos.

 

Once the room was empty, she and I got spray and towels and cleaned the walls, touched up paint and used the dust mop in all the corners and nooks.  Washed the window.  Got a new curtain, (well a friend is fixing it for me).  We made sure that it was clean.  Then she vacuumed.  Then I vacuumed.  She vacuumed again.  Then I vacuumed again.   Then the Rug Doctor came into the room.  It took 16-18 gallons of water through the machine, but we got that carpet nice and shiny.  It was laid in the house new in 2013 and only vacuumed to this point.  But this isn’t the highly trafficked room that other rooms are.  She mostly crashes in here at night.  Though I don’t blame her, whenever she walks into her room, two brothers follow her.

 

You might ask, where all her stuff when while we made her room sparkling clean.  …..

My living room took the hit.  It wasn’t pretty.  Or really walkable.  But we dealt with it for a day and a half.  

 

Once her carpet was dry, and I had a good night’s sleep we started sorting through her things.  Dividing them into sections: keep, trash, yard sale, or relocate.  And slowly but surely we got her belongings back where they belonged.  Bagged the trashed.  Boxed the yard sale stuff, ps I’m having a yard sale really soon.  And put the toys that are no longer allowed in her big girl room, into the play room.  I don’t think she and I have purged her stuff in a long time.  We purged a bit in our big move in 2013, but that was four years ago. 

Now her room is basically finished.  We have to finish weeding out clothes miss, I’m all legs, has outgrown.   We also need to add her bookshelf and books back into her room.  Hang her photos and posters.  But mostly it’s done.  I have whined a lot about her this week.  She’s been thoroughly frustrated with me.  But it’s been a good hard week.  Now that we are at the end of it.  I’m really proud of all her hard work.  She hasn’t really had a break yet.  School ended, travel and now this.  For her summer really hasn’t started.  But I’m so glad that she worked so hard.

She’s growing so fast, that I’m hoping she’s going to learn how to take pride in her space, and that I never have to do this again.  But that normally only truly comes with age.  I’m really proud of her and can’t wait to see who she’ll become and what she’ll do.  But I’m not in too much of a hurry.  For now…

 

…that is all.

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

One response »

  1. Pingback: Thoughts… | A Hurley Point of View

Leave a Reply

