RSS Feed

Getting Started

Posted on

With New Habits

 

This is gonna be a short entry.  Because quite frankly I don’t have a ton of time to lollygag on this post.  In fact, right now I should be posting a devotional on my sister blog, Journey of Faith.  (check it out in a few minutes) But I have to post because well, I am who I am, and I’m a posting Sam I am.  (hehe)

I’m in a good mood, even though my body is screaming at me.   For months, and I mean since March, I’ve been writing on my to-do list, to start running.  This was something that I did back when I lived in Bowling Green.  On Tuesday and Thursday before my class, after dropping Haylie off, I’d run this road that was behind our apartment building.  It didn’t last long because I soon discovered I was pregnant with Lucas and was so sick, I couldn’t even walk it.

 

Anyway, the point is, today I finally got off my 40-pound butt (that is an inside joke, sorry) and ran this morning.  I was breathing so heavy and my legs are aching, but I did it.   I didn’t do good at all, .52 miles in 8 minutes.  And most of that was just at a fast walking pace, but the point is, I did it.  I didn’t just think about it.  Which for me, is the biggest part.

  • Yes, I want to get in shape.
  • Yes, I want to shed some weight.
  • Yes, I want to be more active in my life.
  • Yes, I want to be able to participate in a 5 k.

But today, I did something.

And for me right now that is the most important things.

 

 

GO ME! 

Now the plan is every morning that I put kiddo #2 on the bus for the summer program, I’m going to go for a run.  Hopefully, by the time the summer program is over, it will be a habit and easier to do.

 

For now,

 

….that is all.

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

Leave a Reply

