RSS Feed

Road Trip

Posted on

HEADER

 

Pine Mountain

 

Yesterday, I ran away from home.  Well, kind of.  I went on a road trip.  I woke up an at ungodly hour, and meet my mother and sister (on time) at our meeting spot.  Then we all loaded into one car, and drove down to Pineville, KY.

DSCN4513

 

This city itself was fascinating, while we didn’t explore it too much, it was still interesting to drive through.   We had a goal in mind, Chained Rock.  Now, I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t really research too much about the state park where the rock is located.  So I had just assumed that it was this nice and easy place to walk up to, look at, take my photos and move on.  WOAH! I was wrong.  It was a half mile hike out the rock.  That in itself wasn’t that bad.  It was a cool morning.  There were stairs and rails along the way.

DSCN4524DSCN4531

It was that bad.  Then the three of us just came to the place where the trail just ended.  Like nice path, that just stops into a giant rock.  We were all kind of like, what is this?

So I feel froggy, and I just start going across.  I really had to monkey climb/crawl across and when I come to the next clearing, I see this amazing view.  But I keep going, and finally, finally I see the chain.  I keep going around and there it is.

DSCN4538

I was just sort of in awe.  I go back and tell them they need to come.  Mom is hesitant, Sissy is more willing to give it a go.  And the three of us work our way around this giant rock and get to the landing.  Sissy and I got more adventurous and climbed out closer to the edges.  Which was super cool.  The whole place was basic, but amazing. It felt amazing to have to work for such a view.  It almost makes me what to take up mountain climbing as a hobby.  Almost.  DSCN4533DSCN4537DSCN4535

The rock we had to maneuver around was rough.  I’m sure that a seasoned rock climber would think it is nothing, but the thing is, I’m a stay at home mom.  My exercise level is chasing toddlers.  So this was thrilling.  It was difficult for me.  But it was so amazing. So amazing.  The rocks were beautiful.  They were amazing.  The top was super fun.  It had some amazing views.  DSCN4549 DSCN4551 DSCN4552 DSCN4557

 

The park has this resort, and my mom pointed out that it had that Dirty Dancing feel.  I agreed.  It felt that it was out of time.  A place of yesteryear or something.  But it was a nice place and we ended up eating at the restaurant.  It was so overpriced.  But the food was so good.  It had an amazing view. It was nice to have a meal where I am not being at clawed at.  And was able to have a lovely conversation with the ladies of my family.   After we got back onto the trail, which was so much harder to go back up.  (To many stairs up) I had to woo-hoo out loud.  I just felt so exhilarated.  I touched the top of the world.  ( Yes, in reality I was only 2,200 feet above sea level, but I don’t like reality)  It was a real high. Pun, intended.   13872696_10102816181816272_2003509051325461888_n

We then took highways home.  Instead of the interstate.  Which was fun driving through all the towns.  It wasn’t so fun, when I heard a car accident.  Because that was traumatic, everyone was okay and things were good.  But hearing the crash was terrifying.  We got home super late, and by super late I do mean around 9.  But I was exhausted and went to sleep soon after I got home.  I loved the day I had with my family.  I hope we get to go back and explore the area more.  It was so much bigger than I think any of us knew.  I’m thankful that I was able to take the time with my mom and sister.  It was such a good day.

and for now….

 

…that is all.

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

Leave a Reply

