RSS Feed

New Project

Posted on

 

An Adventure in Quilting HEADER

 

Some of you may know; but for those who don’t over the last year I’ve been trying to reconnect with some of the activities of my youth. When I was in 4-H I participated in some crafts that involved sewing. So in other words I wanted to start sewing again. Now I wasn’t the greatest then, but I had some decent potential. I had made a skirt, dress and apron. But what I want to make now is a quilt. In fact, if I feel good about what I can make, I might even try to sell one or two. I’ve rarely used my sewing machine since it was gotten for me as an awesome Christmas present. So after I was given some receiving blankets (thanks Ms. Kim) and found a way to make them into a quilt on Pinterest. So tonight (well July 22nd) I finally sat down and took some me time to work on it.

As a Mom, and a stay at home mom, all it seems I ever do is play on the internet and chase kids. The truth is, I do clean a lot, I do blog quite a bit, but I have been able to spend a good amount of quality time with my children. It’s a blessing, but a curse. Because as rewarding as being a Mom is, it doesn’t feel like it in the moment. Where as job does. A job gives a person a paycheck and a daily place to go and be. It’s something I miss having. But I’m digressing. I want something I can do work on and have the final result. So I started working on it tonight. I spent one hour cutting my first blanket into squares. I have two more blankets to go. It’s a ton of work. But I’m going to be blogging about it as I go. It would help if my kids would let me just sit down and do it. But oh, well. Life goes on.

One blanket cut down. Two to go. Then I need to get some fabric to cut as well. It’s a big undertaking but I’m excited about it. For tonight that is all. Enjoy this short blog. I hope more of these are coming.

 

 

20150722_195838 20150722_195847

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

Leave a Reply

