Daily Archives: 27 November 2012

Did Text Messaging Save My Life?

Honestly  probably not.  But it sure did save me from being t-boned yesterday.

More normal routine is once I’m out the door and have the kids dropped off I go down a section of city streets that are one-ways intersecting with stop signs.  I stopped at the first stop sign, where I sent my editor a story update text message. She is quick to reply so at the second stop sign I was reading her message.

(YES I KNOW TEXTING AND DRIVING IS DANGEROUS, but on my end I was doing it only when my car was stopped and my attention could be off the road.)

Once I sent the reply I looked both ways, even though I was crossing a one way street, and there was nothing, my editor replied back and I glanced at my phone, deciding it could wait until the next red light.  Had my foot on the gas pedal about ready to proceed forward I watched as a lady in a blue car run the stop sign.

So in my mind, pausing that second to make the choice to not check my phone saved me from getting hit.

I could be wrong, but that is my belief.

I know not that climatic of a story.  I didn’t even have to slam my breaks. Because I saw the lady barreling down the road before I really even moved.

But still there it is.

that is all.