RSS Feed

flowers

I’m muddling through this one, it might not make sense.

Sunday night, a family at my NKY church lost their husband and father.  He was so much more than that.   I didn’t know him, but I know he was a great man.

His death has really shook me.  From what I understand it was a complete accident—a bridge collapsed.  I think that is why it has affected me so much.  We hear it all the time “you never know when it’s your time to go.”  I know I’ve heard that quote so much from so many different people it really lost its meaning.  But how freaking true it is, it’s scary.

A person doesn’t know when their time is up.  There are no warning signs.  Even if they have a terminal illness there isn’t a date that says this is the end.  Today I keep thinking about how just hours ago that family was fine, happy living normally and now they are just heartbroken.  I just can’t even imagine how they feel.

And really this is just a reflection thinking about how quickly it all changes. How all of a sudden your world can be rocked.  It makes me want to pause to just really enjoy my time here on earth a bit more.  Just stop stressing so much over all the crap that doesn’t matter and enjoy what does.

If you pray, pray for this family.  They need God’s comforting hand to get this through it all.

And something I’ve hear my whole life is worth repeating: Give flowers to people while they are here to enjoy them.

Take today to be thankful.  Find the happiness in the day.

That is all.

About hurleysview

stuff, blahs, yadadas...

One response »

  1. Well said, pretty close to my own thoughts and you brought a tear to my eyes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

